State of South Dakota

NINETY-FOURTH SESSION LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY, 2019

296B0804

HOUSE COMMEMORATION NO. 1009

- Introduced by: Representatives Haugaard, Anderson, Bartels, Barthel, Beal, Borglum, Brunner, Chase, Cwach, Dennert, Deutsch, Diedrich, Duvall, Finck, Frye-Mueller, Glanzer, Goodwin, Gosch, Greenfield (Lana), Gross, Hammock, Hansen, Healy, Hunhoff, Jensen (Kevin), Johnson (Chris), Johnson (David), Koth, Lake, Latterell, Lesmeister, Livermont, Marty, Mills, Milstead, Miskimins, Otten (Herman), Perry, Peterson (Kent), Peterson (Sue), Pischke, Post, Pourier, Qualm, Randolph, Rasmussen, Reed, Reimer, Ring, Rounds, Saba, Schoenfish, Smith (Jamie), St John, Steele, Weis, Wiese, Willadsen, York, and Zikmund and Senators Greenfield (Brock), Blare, DiSanto, Jensen (Phil), Maher, and Rusch
- A LEGISLATIVE COMMEMORATION, Honoring Rena Ortbahn for her outstanding commitment and dedicated service to the State of South Dakota and the South Dakota Legislature.

WHEREAS, Rena Ortbahn has dutifully served the Legislature for twenty years, over 753 legislative days, in a variety of roles including proofreader, page advisor, and committee secretary, and frequently offers her assistance and expertise during special sessions and legislative interims; and

WHEREAS, four Governors - the Honorable William Janklow, Mike Rounds, Dennis Daugaard, and Kristi Noem - have led the State of South Dakota, with three of them also serving as legislators, during Rena's tenure; and

WHEREAS, seven Senate President Pro Tempores - the Honorable Harold Halverson, Arnold Brown, Lee Schoenbeck, Bob Gray, Corey Brown, Gary Cammack, and Brock Greenfield - have served during Rena's tenure; and

WHEREAS, ten Speakers of the House of Representatives - the Honorable Roger Hunt, Scott Eccarius, Matthew Michels, Thomas Deadrick, Tim Rave, Val Rausch, Brian Gosch, Dean Wink, G. Mark Mickelson, and Steven Haugaard - have served during Rena's twenty years of service; and

WHEREAS, during Rena's tenure, 5,776 House Bills, 733 House Commemorations, 363 House Concurrent Resolutions, 108 House Joint Resolutions, six House Resolutions, 4,339 Senate Bills, 534 Senate Commemorations, 198 Senate Concurrent Resolutions, 83 Senate Joint Resolutions, and 12 Senate Resolutions have been introduced by the Legislature; and

WHEREAS, Rena has performed her duties admirably for two decades, offering guidance and support to her fellow secretaries and session staff, and displaying exemplary character, loyalty, and dedication to the Legislature and the State of South Dakota:

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT COMMEMORATED, by the Ninety-Fourth Legislature of the State of South Dakota, that Rena Ortbahn be recognized for her exceptional dedication through twenty years of service to the Legislature and the State of South Dakota.