## **State of South Dakota**

NINETY-FOURTH SESSION LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY, 2019

459B0807

## HOUSE COMMEMORATION NO. 1022

Introduced by: Representatives Rounds, Beal, Duvall, Goodwin, McCleerey, Qualm, and Smith (Jamie) and Senators Monroe, Blare, Kolbeck, and Nelson

A LEGISLATIVE COMMEMORATION, Commending the South Dakota Army National Guard's 152nd Combat Sustainment Support Battalion of Pierre for being awarded the Major General Milton A. Reckford Trophy, General Walter T. Kerwin, Jr. Award, and the U.S. Army Supply Excellence Awards for 2018.

WHEREAS, the South Dakota Army National Guard's 152nd CSSB was presented the Major General Milton A. Reckford Trophy as the most outstanding Army National Guard battalion in the nation for achieving the highest standards in training and readiness; and

WHEREAS, the 152nd CSSB was also awarded the General Walter T. Kerwin, Jr. Award as the most outstanding Army National Guard battalion in the nation for demonstrated excellence in operational planning, execution of training, and maintaining high-readiness standards; and

WHEREAS, the 152nd CSSB also won the Region VI Supply Excellence Award and runner-up in U.S. Army Chief of Staff of the Army Supply Excellence Award, recognizing Army units who demonstrate excellence in supply and support operations, property accountability, and resource management; and

WHEREAS, the selection is based on overall combat readiness and the unit's performance with respect to all other Army National Guard units in personnel strength, individual and crew served weapons firing, the army physical fitness test, unit manning, skill level qualifications, retention, drill attendance, operational readiness inspections, supply operations and management, outstanding accomplishments, and special missions all being factors in the evaluation and selection; and

WHEREAS, the 152nd CSSB continues to demonstrate continued support to its community and the State of South Dakota:

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT COMMEMORATED, by the Ninety-Fourth Legislature of the State of South Dakota, that the Legislature expresses its respect, commendation, and congratulations to the South Dakota Army National Guard 152nd CSSB for being awarded the Reckford Trophy, Kerwin Award, and Army Supply Excellence Awards and recognizes the 152nd Combat Sustainment Support Battalion for its outstanding service to the great State of South Dakota and the United States of America.